+44 (0) 1291 689920
18TH CENTURY BED AND BREAKFAST

Guest Reviews

Guest Rating
4.9 / 5
From 33 Reviews

"Lovely stay at Old Rectory"

June 2017
Anika and Ian are lovely hosts. We really enjoyed our stay: beautiful old house, comfortable rooms with a wonderful atmosphere and great breakfast! Ian even served breakfast, although we had to leave really early on our departure day. We are looking forward to come back again.
Daniela
Review from Booking.com

"Stayed a week and will be back!!"

May 2017
WE booked the very comfortable spotlessly clean double bedroom on the front of the house which overlooks the river from a higher level. The large bed was really comfortable and the linen changed three times in the week with fresh towels regularly and quality toiletries. The breakfasts were leisurely with such a lot of delicious choices of cereal, juices, cooked breakfasts and jams and marmalade. The sitting room had plenty of maps and books on interesting and local subjects. If you want a minimalist pristine place you would not enjoy the fresh flowers on the breakfast tables and interesting comfortable décor. Two downsides for others might be the slope and steps up to the house and the very faint aroma of cigarette smoke on the odd occasion. The welcome and warmth and concern for the guests was really good and we hope to be back again .
Dee P
Review from Tripadvisor

"Superb"

March 2017
spacious room
Ian
Review from Booking.com

“Quaint and homely”

March 2017
Likes:
The wood fire was well received. The owners are very pleasant and welcoming.
Dislikes:
Door frames are a quite low. I hit my head quite hard.
Mark
Review from Booking.com

“Traditional and vintage old-world charm”

March 2017
We booked to stay at the Old Rectory for one night, but when we turned up the next day it turned out that we had accidentally booked for a week later! Anika and Ian still allowed us to stay that night and were very welcoming. The guest house was extremely clean and well-decorated. I enjoyed the vintage feeling of the bedroom we stayed in and the bed was very comfy. It was a lovely base from which to explore the Wye Valley, and the Wye Valley Hotel did a wonderful meal with open fire only 2 minutes walk away from the guest house. The breakfast included at the Old Rectory was one of the best I have had in any hotel/B&B. They had a wide choice including both traditional Welsh - Glamorganshire sausages - and Canadian - waffles with syrup. It was delicious. I would thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone. Be aware that there is quite a steep ramp to walk up to get to the front door, although there is a wrought iron hand rail - just in case anyone has mobility issues.
Likes:
The extra large double bed room overlooking the River Wye was excellent.
Dislikes:
None
woodley280
Review from Tripadvisor

“Wonderfully gracious and friendly hosts, who could not have done more to make us welcome.”

February 2017
Likes:
The hosts - Annika and Ian were delightful; the bed was very comfortable indeed - spacious and firm - just perfect; there was a wonderful selection of breakfast juices; finally Annika produced wonderful home made bread (toasted) with jams and a stunning honey.
Irh
Review from Booking.com

“Perfect for reflection on ones self.”

February 2017
I had an answer message informing me Anika and Ian were shopping until 4pm on my arrival day, I arrive early, my fault, but I'm glad I did. I sat outside the rectory, just looking across the river, it was cold and if I'm honest, I've not felt so relaxed in a long time. The Rectory feels welcoming. Anika and Ian and were asking if I had waited long, to be honest, I would of waited longer, this truly is the perfect place to reflect on oneself.

My room was perfect, beautifully decorated and so quaint. There were times I'd just sit in the window and stare out. Then others getting cwutched up and relaxing in such a quiet place was just what I have been looking for. Listening to the birds and watching the sun rise when out walking, so much was done and yet I feel so reaxed ... Anika and Ian also kindly told me of different walks and the best way to get them, they both went above and beyond to make sure my stay was perfect. Than you both.

Likes:
Room 1, perfect for the view and seated window. Wifi available.
Dislikes:
None
Crossfit C
Review from Tripadvisor

“Night away”

February 2017
Wonderful welcome beautiful room's and fantastic breakfast don't think I'll be eating all week now. Highly recommend this place. Had a wonderful day at Tintern and a very peaceful sleep at the Old Rectory.
Peter P
Review from Tripadvisor

“Large comfy bed, delicious breakfast.”

January 2017
Likes:
The breakfast was the best I've ever had.
The place was spotless and there was an emphasis on eco-products, local , good quality food.
Dislikes:
The pictures on the walls were not to my taste but were consistent with the old fashioned theme of decor which fitted the house,
Jeremy
Review from Booking.com

“Worth the trip just to have breakfast.”

January 2017
Likes:
Breakfast was superb. Delightful, friendly owners. Views from the front of the house - Wow!
Dislikes:
Would prefer a slightly larger en-suite - but then it is an old Rectory, so size generally was understandable. (Minor detail.)
David
Review from Guest Book
Pages:
Page 1 of 4
1
2
3
4
Next >>